RDFCC Awards Dinner 2011

Royal Dean Forest CC Awards Dinner 2011

Royal Dean Forest Cycling Club’s Annual Awards Dinner was held last weekend at the Littledean House Hotel,Littledean to celebrate and reflect on the 2011 season, which has been a moderately successful season compared to the highs of the last 3 years. Chairman Matt Heaman opened proceedings welcoming friends from Glos Velo, a cycling fellowship based in the Forest as well as friends from Ross & District Cycling Club and also RDFCC members numbering 50+.

Matt introduced this years chief guest William Fotheringham – a cycling journalist who curently works for the Guardian as well as providing expert help to the Eurosport Cycling team at the Tour de France who was to add some in depth cycling knowledge to the proceedings.As usual there was plenty of stills footage of the 2011 season and some retro photos of previous years exploits on the big screen.

Matt prescied the 2011 season emphasising how the Club and cycling scene locally continues to go from strength to strength and how much he is looking forward to seeing how the Club progresses in 2012 in light of what effect the Olympics and potential success might have on the sport. Matt identified this seasons highlight as the launch of the Junior Mountain Bike Time Trials around the FreeMiner Trial which attracted the attention of the BCF (British Cycling Federation).Organiser Alan Crowley is planning a further 7 events mid-week for the 2012 season.
He also highlighted the fantastic achievements of Earl Smith in open time trial events around the region where Earl has broken some very respectable Club Records and the exploits of Adam Taylor off-road in endurance mountain bike events where he regularly features in the top 10.

It was now over to chief guest William Fotheringham who outlined his experience to date both as a journalist and also as a cyclist and is currently a member of Halesowen Cycling Club.William has covered most main races on the calendar and in doing so has met or talked to most of the cycling greats of the modern area recalling conversations and interviews with the likes of Lance Armstrong, Marco Pantani,David Miller et al….after describing his “cv” he threw a Q & A ssession to the floor where topics such as drugs in the sport, Cycle safety and talk of his next book about the great Eddie Mercx were eloquently described.

Next Matt introduced Colin Parry to the assembled throng who would present the trophies to the recipients. Colin still a 2nd claim member of RDFCC ranked a very impressive 9th overall in the BCF UK Road Race Points Rankings in only his 6th season…now riding for an Elite Team “Wiliers Go Self Ride” and enjoying TV exposure in the Criterium Series.

The full awards made can be seen in the attached spreadsheet together with season best times…see below a snap shot…

Steve Ardern and Emily Ravenhill jointly picked up the Reg Berrow Memorial Tankard for setting up and leading many of the Club’s “short” road rides last Spring/Summer in between training for an Ironman & Cross Channel Swim attempt respectively. Emily is now busy trying to get a “WAG’s” (Wives & Girlfriends) Road ride off the ground.

Paul Sharpe – was the 4th recipient of the new Road Racing Trophy.

Mike Henderson – won back the Audax Trophy this year having ridden 3800 kilometre in Audaxes throughout the year.

Colin Parry – retained the “Lindsay Venner Memorial Trophy” for the fastest time on a conventional set up bike on the new Lydbrook 15 course.

James Wilson – Paul Stephens run of 8 consecutive years for Most Rides by a Ross & District Member finally came to an end with James Wilson winning the “Jim Riches Fellowship Trophy” .

Club Secretary Alan Crowley – Clubman of the Year, won by Alan by a country mile for his preparation and organisation of the new Junior Mountain Bike Time Trials.

Club Website Manager Adam Taylor – Mountain Biker of the Year for his efforts in the 4 lap version of the Club’s Enduro and participation in many other Endurance MTB events.

Aaron Preest – recipient of the “Chris Ball Memorial Trophy” awarded to the Club member for providing the “moment of mirth” during the year. Junior rider Aaron did also win 2 trophies for conventional racing…he picked up the Junior Season Best All Rounder Series Trophy and Junior 10 mile Time Trial Champion trophy and he aims to get stuck into road racing next season.

Most Improved Rider – Dave Pearce picked up this Trophy for his incredible season when he posted too many PB’s to mention and won the CEBAR competition by a country mile…

Women’s Champion – after a 3 year barren patch Josie Evans returned to winning form this season winning the Seasons Best All Rounder and 10 mile TT trophies.

Senior Men – a new name on 2 trophies this season as Andrew “Pet Shop Boy” Parker picked up the 10 and 25 mile Time Trial trophies.

Veteran Men – sadly Earl Smith was not on hand to win his usual crop of trophies and his times for 25/50 and 100 miles certainly impressed our chief guest Mr Fotheringham who could not imagine riding his bike that fast..(see spreadsheet)..

and finally we could not forget mentioning RDFCC Chairman Matt Heaman and MC for the evening who picked up the Seasons Best All Rounder trophy and not surprisingly the Veterans Best All Rounder Trophy.

and finally,a Raflle was held for the Prostate Cancer Charity “Movember” and Great Oaks Hospice,Coleford and a healthy £134 was raised. Many thanks for donating prizes went to: Club Ginger,Lydney – Severn Valley Cycles,Lydney – Pedalabikeaway,Cannop – Campione Cycle Coach David Evans,Coleford.

Martin Green

RDFCC Trophy List 2011

Trophy Awarded forTrophy TitleWinner
Season Best All Rounder 10 SeriesSCHOOLBOYS 10 SERIESAaron Preece
10 mile Time Trial ChampionJUNIOR 10M TTAaron Preece
25 mile Time Trial Championnot awarded
50 mile Time Trial Championnot awarded
Hill Climb Championnot awarded
1O mile Time Trial ChampionGENTS 10 T.T.Andy Parker 23m 30s
25 mile Time Trial ChampionSENIORS 25M TTAndy Parker 59m 29s
50 mile Time Trial Champion50 MILESnot awarded
10O mile Time Trial Champion100 MILE T.T 1980Earl Smith 3h 56m 42s
Vintage Tankard Fastest Snr Ride(Presidents Cup)Allan Matthews
Senior Hill Climb ChampionSENIORS HILL CLIMBAlistair Willis
Road Racing TrophyROAD RACE TROPHYPaul Sharpe
Seasons Best All Rounder CEBARLADIES BEST ALL ROUNDERJosie Evans
10 mile Time Trial ChampionLADIES 10 T.T.Josie Evans
Hill Climb ChampionLADIES HILL CLIMBnot awarded
1O mile Time Trial ChampionVETERANS 10M TTEarl Smith 21m 03s
25 mile Time Trial ChampionVETERANS 25M TTEarl Smith 51 35s
5O mile Time Trial ChampionVETERANS 50M TTEarl Smith 1h 50m 31s
Vintage Tankard Fastest Vet Ridenot awarded
Veterans All Rounder TrophyMatt Heaman
GENERAL AWARDS - any age group
Seasons Best All RounderB.A.R. CHAMPION "ANONYMOUS CUP"Matt Heaman
CEBAR Competition Blue Section WinnerCEBAR BLUE SECTIONDave Pearce
CEBAR Competition Black Section WinnerCEBAR BLACK SECTIONJohn Linden
Most Improved Rider of the SeasonMOST IMPROVED RIDERDave Pearce
12 Hour Time Trial Trophy12 HOUR RACE (IVAN C.WALKER)Adam Taylor
Reg Berrow Memorial Tankard - Most Club RidesTHE REG.BERROW TANKARDSteve Ardern & Emily Ravenhill
Audax TrophyAUDAXMike Henderson
Lindsey Venner Memorial Trophy (Std Road Bike)LINDSAY VENNER MEMORIAL TROPHYColin Parry
for Ross CC member riding most RDFCC TTsTHE JAMES RICHES FELLOWSHIP CUPJames Wilson
Clubperson of the YearCYRIL ADAMS MEMORIAL CUPAlan Crowley
Mountain Biker of the YearROYAL DEAN FOREST C.C. MTBAdam Taylor
Chris Ball Memorial Tankard - moment of mirth"CHRIS BALL" "MEMORIAL"Aaron Preece
Track Rider Trophynot awarded